Day 6: Fika

I told my mother I wouldn’t use the f-word on this blog.  I may break that promise if I get close to 100 days and still don’t have a job, but for now, the only four-letter f-word I’m using is fika.

Apparently fika is the Swedish word for a coffee break.    And it’s not just a quick cup of joe slurped down while hastily responding to emails.  It’s an actual break, one that is accompanied by conversation and, sometimes, a treat.  Swedes claim it makes them more productive and efficient since it truly allows them to recharge before returning to work.

When you’re unemployed it is easy to think you don’t deserve breaks.  After all, you’re not technically working, so why should you need a break?

I don’t think I need to explain why that’s absurd.  Looking for work is the worst sort of work, and it’s actually the time when most of us are most in need of a boost.

Today’s application is headed to Wisconsin.  Have a croissant and a cappuccino in my honor, everybody.

-Josie

 

3 thoughts on “Day 6: Fika

  1. donnajburkholder says:

    Hi Josie,
    I appreciate how creative you are. You seem to have a great sense of humor and you write well. You’re clearly really smart. I don’t know your work history or what job you’re looking for exactly but hang in there. I remember after I got my master degree I couldn’t find work and got more rejection letters than you can imagine. It can be so hard on one’s self-esteem but you gotta persevere. It’s a tough job looking for work; you definitely deserve a Fika ! 🙂
    Donna

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

