Day 8: Endorse Me

Yesterday evening I received an email from the recruiting firm saying that they want to work with me.  Considering that it can take up to two weeks to hear back from them, I was pretty surprised to hear back in less than twenty-four hours.  I was also pretty happy.  I’m a big believer in celebrating small victories, and this, at least in my mind, qualifies as one.

Today’s task is putting together my profile on their online site.  I don’t know if this counts as applying for a job, but it’s all I’m going to do today.  I figure since I created this 100-day project, I get to make the rules for it.

One of the things I have to do for the online profile is collect endorsements from people who think well of me.  I’ll be honest, I don’t like asking for endorsements.  I know they are important, but I cringe every time I request one.  It’s like begging for compliments – no matter how generous the compliments you receive are, you feel like you don’t deserve them.

I also have to make a short video of myself.  This is even harder.  No one likes the sound of their own voice recorded, and when you add the video element in, it’s almost impossible to be pleased with the product.

I saw a cute little plaque once that said, “Be the person your dog thinks you are.”  My dog adores me and looks sad whenever I leave him.  Sometimes he gets jealous of my laptop computer and spreads his little body over the keyboard so that I can’t type without first stroking his head.  I think I will always have his endorsement.

-Josie

2 thoughts on “Day 8: Endorse Me

  1. donnajburkholder says:

    This definitely counts as a job application. In fact, should count as several!! I love the quote about seeing yourself as your dog sees you. Gonna remember that one myself 🙂
    I know it can be hard to ask for endorsements but my guess is that you would gladly do the same for a friend. Sounds like a productive day to me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

