Day 15: Fake It Until You Become It

I just placed an order for Amy Cuddy’s book Presence: Bringing Your Boldest Self to Your Biggest Challenges.  I saw her TED talk a while ago, and I’ve also heard her interviewed a number of times.  She talks about how body language and mindset can change the way we feel and the way we present ourselves others.  She also talks about how she personally used to struggle to feel confident and how she overcame that by, in her words, “faking it until you become it.”

Confidence is important in a job search.  When you don’t present yourself as someone who has a lot to offer, people are less likely to see you as a good hire.  Of course, there isn’t necessarily a correlation between feeling confident and being competent, but in the context of a job interview, it’s important to convey confidence.

I’m eager to read Cuddy’s book, but I’m also just eager to get something in the mail.  Sometimes it is just nice to have something to look forward to.

Today’s application is headed to Massachusetts.  I meet the minimum qualifications for the job, and I think I’d be good at it, but it’s a slightly different kind of position than what I’ve done in the past.  I tried to craft a creative cover letter to show how my skills would transfer, but I suspect someone with real experience in that area would be more attractive to them as a candidate.  We will see.

-Josie

 

2 thoughts on “Day 15: Fake It Until You Become It

Leave a Reply

