Day 16: Process not Outcome

Today’s application goes out to Rhode Island.  Cover letter, resume, references, done.

I listened to a Podcast interview with Hal Elrod today.  He’s a self-help guru known for the book The Miracle Morning: The Not-So-Obvious Secret Guaranteed to Transform Your Life.  He is a very enthusiastic person, almost so much so that he is exhausting to listen to.  That being said, I like some of the things he has to say.  One of his main ideas is that you cannot control the outcome of your actions, but you can control your actions.  He developed this philosophy while he was selling Cutco knives.  He knew that while he couldn’t choose who would buy the knives, he could control how many people he showed them to.  So he showed them to a lot of people.  Eventually, he also sold a lot of knives.

It is very difficult to focus on the process instead of the outcome.  Outcomes are so emotionally loaded.  You get the job or you don’t get the job.  You make the sale or you don’t make the sale.  You win or you lose.  And when you win or get the job or make the sale, you feel absolutely amazing.

Outcomes are based on many factors, though.  Things outside of my control, outside of anyone’s control, play a role.  Some of the times when things have gone really well for me, it was actually a case of good luck.  I’ve also had bad luck at times, and that too was not my fault.  It just happens.

The thing about focusing on process, and the reason I’m trying to make it my new way of doing things, is that process can be controlled.  I can apply for a job every day; I can’t choose whether people are interested in my applications.  I can continue researching opportunities that might be a good fit for me; I can’t predict which ones are most likely to be successful.

Does anyone else have strategies that have helped them achieve a goal or stick with a project?

-Josie

8 thoughts on “Day 16: Process not Outcome

  1. donnajburkholder says:

    Josie, I just wanted to tell you that I look forward to reading your post each day. I don’t have an answer off the top of my head to your question about strategies but will think about it. But It sounds like you are choosing to honor your process even if it’s a little bit out of your comfort zone and you are gaining much insight and wisdom. Thanks for sharing your process. -Donna

    Liked by 3 people

    • ifimstillunemployedattheendofthisimquitting says:

      Thank you so much! It means a lot to me that people are reading my posts and responding! I started this mostly just because I was so sad when I didn’t get the job I wanted in New Hampshire, but it is turning into an interesting opportunity for me to learn about myself and my way of approaching challenges as well. Thanks for your encouragement!

      Like

  2. amber says:

    I had a lot of worry over the outcome of my 100 day painting project. The whole reason I started the project was to build my skills as an artist – day 100 was daunting. In the end, it turned out beautifully. My 100 day self care project is different. The process is a daily thing. I’m doing what I can to be better at taking care of myself. Like the paintings, it looks different everyday, but it’s still growth. I think you’re doing the right thing. Control your actions and what you’re putting out there. What others think, feel and do is all about their actions. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      • amber says:

        I started the painting project last September. It was pretty intense. (https://amberrobidoux.com/2015/09/01/100-paintings-in-100-days/) It required lots of prep, but it was a really good exercise in discipline. The self care project was spurred on by the question “what next?” I kept getting. And it was intended to make less of a splash and to make baby steps toward something I wasn’t doing so great at: self care.

        Have you thought about how you’ll spin this project if you get a job in the middle of it?

        Like

  3. geekgirlat40 says:

    Awesome! I love that you are working on focusing on only what is in your control. That’s a challenge but a worthy challenge.

    To achieve a goal and stick with a project I set short goals with a reward at the end – a walk, a piece of chocolate, a quick game on my ipad. I also set realistic deadlines and those are a huge help.

    And that pomodoro timer!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

