Day 20: IKEA Cover-Up

Today I went to Ikea with a friend who is setting up a new apartment and buying furniture.  Holy overstimulation!  That place is great, but I’m exhausted by looking at hundreds of things that cost less than ten dollars, come in lots of great colors, and probably break easily.  Plastic crap is fun, but do I need it?  I decided to just get one of those little green bamboo plants that look like curly asparagas – I think they are called Dracaena.

While I was at Ikea I ran into someone I haven’t seen in a while, and he asked what I’m doing right now for work.  Isn’t that the worst?  What do you say?  It feels crummy to say, “I’m unemployed.”  I have done a few little freelance gigs, so I told him about that, but it didn’t feel great.  It felt like a cover-up.

Speaking of which, I think one of the hardest things about not working is the questions people ask.  “What do you do?” is such a common opening line.  People ask it before they ask almost anything else.  I’ve heard that in other countries people are less likely to begin conversations this way, but in America, it’s certainly very, very common.

I still got an application out, even though it was a busy day.  The 100-day challenge is really keeping me honest, and I happy that I’ve made it all the way to the 20% mark.  That’s almost three weeks in.

-Josie.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Day 20: IKEA Cover-Up

  1. AimlessPanther says:

    It’s the same in Australia! Small talk goes straight from ‘how about this weather’ to ‘so, how’s work?’. Then you let them know and everyone stares at their shoes for a while, until someone says ‘that sucks, good luck. Oh look, something shiny!’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

