Day 24: Power Up

Today’s application goes, once again, to New York City.  It is for one of the jobs the recruiter told me about.  I had resisted applying at first since the job looks incredibly difficult, but, after further consideration, I think I’m going to go for it.  There are basically two reasons for this.  The first is that I really would like to live in New York City.  The second is that even though the job doesn’t look easy, it does look meaningful.  Meaning makes it easier to do difficult things.

I’ve been reading about power in my book by Amy Cuddy.  I think it’s common for people to have negative associations with the word “power.”  (After all, power corrupts, right?)  But Cuddy writes that we need to set aside those negative associations because there are some real pitfalls in feeling powerless as well.

For example, there is research showing that when you prime people to feel either powerful or powerless, there is a measurable difference in the performance of the two groups when they are presented with challenging games to play.  The people primed to feel powerful do much better.  There is also research showing that when we feel powerless we are more self-absorbed.  And self-absorption makes it more difficult to relate to others.  On top of all that, people who feel powerless are more likely to ruminate about their mistakes after they’ve made them.  In other words, sometimes the best thing to do is to power up.

One of the most important reasons to become empowered, in my mind, is that studies show people who feel more powerful are also more proactive.  And can I just say that if ever there is a time when it is important to be proactive, it is when you are unemployed.  Employers do not knock on your door asking if there’s anything you can do for them; it’s the other way around.

On that note, I’m now enrolled in two ceramics courses.  If you read my DAY 21 post, you know why this is significant.  Take action and seek out what you want!

-Josie

7 thoughts on “Day 24: Power Up

  1. donnajburkholder says:

    Thank you for your comment. I had just read your post and was about to say the same to you, ‘good for you.’ I hope you get a job in New York City. I don’t know where you live now, but sounds like you have a passion for NYC and I can see why. It’s such an amazing city, a pulse like no other. Keep going and own your power 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

