Day 26: Hello Opportunity

This morning I received two email requests for phone/Skype interviews.

What?!

Isn’t it funny how sometimes you get a bunch of news all at once?  I’m totally excited, and I want to get these interviews right, so I’m changing the rules of my own game:

Going forward, I may not apply for a job every day, but I will do some significant project related to the job search every day.  These may include:

  • Researching an organization where I have an interview.
  • Doing a phone interview.
  • Traveling for an in-person interview.
  • Writing follow-up thank you emails after an interview.
  • Doing a mock interview to practice for the real thing.

When I first started this project I liked the elegant simplicity of applying for 100 jobs, but upon further consideration, it might be more strategic to change my focus so that I can really shine in the interviews.  This is already an unconventional 100-day project, since my goal, in a way, is not to make it to 100, whereas usually the goal is to make it to 100.  If I get hired on day 58, I will not continue applying for jobs.  I will make myself an Arnold Palmer and lie down in a hammock that day.  Of course, I will keep fighting the fight all the way to 100, if I need to, but that’s not really the goal.

So on that note, it’s time for some research!

-Josie

7 thoughts on “Day 26: Hello Opportunity

  1. mentalbreakinprogress says:

    Hi Josie! Glad to hear things are looking up! 😀 Your game plan is awesome and I love your ambition and wow can I relate to things happening all at once! lol that saying “When it rains, it pours.” comes to mind. Sending lots of good vibes to you and the interview process! You’re going to kick butt! 🙂 xo

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sonya says:

    I discovered your blog this morning (via Aimless Panther’s post) and have since read every post (it’s not quite as sad as it sounds, it’s past 11pm my time as I write this…). I know it really isn’t, but you make looking for a job sound rather entertaining. Fingers crossed you bag one of those NYC gigs!

    Like

    • ifimstillunemployedattheendofthisimquitting says:

      Oh thank you so much! That is tremendously encouraging! And that is the reason I’m doing this, too. I’m pretty tired of the search, so blogging about it is helping me to stay entertained and positive instead of demoralized. And following other blogs is helping too! A lot of people have similar challenges, I’m realizing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

