Day 28: The First Interview

My phone interview this morning went well.  I suspect part of the reason it went well was that by the time the interview began I felt there was only about a ten percent chance I wanted the job.  Nothing makes me more confident that not caring about the outcome.  (Hmm… this is reminiscent of what I learned on DAY 16.)  On top of that, the interviewer was younger than I am, and her voice was high-pitched the way people’s voices become when they are just a bit nervous.  In other words, the whole conversation was not very intimidating.

At the end of the interview, I took the advice of Get Em Dash and asked about some of the negative reviews the company has received from former employees.  The interviewer seemed totally ready for the question, i.e. her response seemed like the sort of canned response you would prepare in advance if you knew a question was coming.  That being said, her response was pretty good.  So now I don’t know what to think.

The other interesting thing that turned up in the job search today is that one of my former colleagues contacted me about a position that may be opening up soon.  I may try to apply for that position still today, or I may take the rest of the day off.  Interviews are exhausting!

Speaking of exhaustion, can I just say how much my fellow bloggers have done to keep me energized through this process?  I really appreciate all the encouragement and the shout-outs on other people’s blogs.  On that note, I’d like to share the love and say that you should all check out the blog of Aimless Panther.  She’s funny, and she has good practical advice for surviving (heck, maybe even flourishing during!)a period of unemployment.

-Josie

 

4 thoughts on “Day 28: The First Interview

  1. AimlessPanther says:

    Awww, thanks for the shout-out! It’s so important having this community to keep spirits up, I reckon. I’m so glad the interview went well for you, and I fully advocate taking the rest of the day off, and if at all possibly devouring something very unhealthy for you in front of your favorite TV show. Only way to shake off the stress 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Get Em Dash says:

    Well done you! And wonderful news about the possible lead. I think sticking to your “do one thing per day” formula is the winning way to go. Once you start doubling up, then you create excuses for skipping days out and therein lies madness…

    Like

Leave a Reply

