Day 29: Joseph vs. Josie

It being a Saturday, I’m not expecting to hear from anyone today.  I sent an application to an organization in Texas and then allowed myself the luxury of drinking tea and cruising the internet for whatever struck my fancy.

Well, I stumbled across this:

“Until I was a man, I had no idea how good men had it at work.”

Wait, really?

You can read it yourself, but it’s basically the story of a transgender man who discovered that people took him more seriously at work once he began taking hormones that gave him a beard, muscles, deep voice, etc.  One paragraph especially stood out:

“It’s amazing what believing in someone can do. My sense since my transition is that people want to believe the best of me. I like to think I have justified this belief. I am asked for my opinion near-daily internally and externally, on matters far beyond the realm of my actual job. All of this positive feedback has helped me to become my best, most productive, most creative, most innovative self.”

As I understand it, the article is not an attempt to bash men for limiting women’s career potential.  All of us, men and women, are responsible for the current state of affairs.  If you want to test your own bias, use the link in the article or click this link to Project Implicit at Harvard.  When I took the test, I got the same result as the author of the article – a strong bias in favor of men being associated with career and women being associated with family.  So it’s official that I’m as much a part of the problem as anyone else.

I’m curious to what extent this article resonates with fellow bloggers.  Men, do you think you have it better than women at work, or is this bunch of baloney?  Women, do you wonder what would happen if you submitted your work with a male name attached to it?  Men and women, what are your results on the implicit bias test?

-Josie

 

 

4 thoughts on “Day 29: Joseph vs. Josie

  1. Sonya says:

    I have a weak bias associating men with career and women with family. But I think it’s difficult to let it go, given how prevalent the correlation still is everywhere in the media.

    Like

Leave a Reply

