Day 32: I Can See Russia From My House

Today’s application goes to an American company that hires people to teach English abroad, including teaching in Russia.  I do not know if this kind of work would be good for me.  It would be an adventure, but would it be the kind of adventure I’m looking for right now?  That remains to be seen.

Part of the reason I applied for something so random is that I’m having a hard time finding job opportunities that appeal to me.  I don’t want to be too picky, but I also don’t want to apply for a job that I’ll want to quit after a few months.  It’s a conundrum.

I still haven’t gotten an interview scheduled with the place that requested an interview on DAY 26.  Did they change their minds?  They said they would be in touch to schedule an interview this week, but I haven’t heard a thing from them.  If they don’t email me today, I’m going to email them tomorrow, just to make sure everything is okay.

Since I’m thinking about working abroad, I’m going to post a link to a stereotype map, i.e. a map with American stereotypes about other countries printed all over it.  Sadly, this is probably what a lot of Americans think about the rest of the world.

-Josie

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 32: I Can See Russia From My House

  1. Get Em Dash says:

    Good for you in trying the random thing. Why not? They’re not going to ring you up and shout at you. You don’t have to accept a job offer that’s not a good fit. There really are no bad consequences to this and it might help you start thinking differently about your search, which is super positive. I’ve been wondering too – not about you specifically, just theoretically – if we (I/one) strategize our (my/people’s) behaviour in life in too restrictive a way. Like, why “search” for a job (theoretically speaking, obviously!) when maybe you can create your own job? Just start doing the thing rather than waiting for someone to create the environment for you (me/that person). Or instead of “asking” for a job, you go out “telling” people about the job you’d like (or have started working on anyway – like your ceramics adventure or my adventure in patterns). That might create positive openings for other people to respond? So turn the idea of searching into a positive, constructive behaviour rather than one that hopes someone else will respond positively to. I don’t know, these are vague ideas about framing how we look at ourselves and what we’re doing (creating) on a day to day basis. I love your blog so much, I really appreciate you sharing your thoughts about what you’re going through because it gives me a chance to reflect on what I’M doing too! Maybe you could turn job hunting itself into an income stream! Be a job reviewer for recruiters, how funny would that be?!

    Like

    • ifimstillunemployedattheendofthisimquitting says:

      Oh totally! I know what you mean about reframing the “search.” Thinking of it as a search does make it seem like I’m looking for them and not the other way around. Ostensibly, though, anyone who is hiring is looking for an employee, and I’d like to think that I’m the kind of person they’re looking for… In other words, maybe part of the challenge is simply to become visible enough so that the person looking for me can actually find me… Woah, what a thought! Thanks for provoking me to think differently – I appreciate that!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

