Day 34: Haute Cuisine

Last night I watched the movie Haute Cuisine.  It is the story of the woman who cooked for French president Jean d’Ormesson.  I won’t give the whole plot here because that would be dull, but I will offer what I thought was one of the best quotes from the film.  It is something the president himself says:

“Adversity is the spice of life.”

I’ve never heard anyone say that before.  The phrase I’ve heard is, “Variety is the spice of life.”  Variety is more palatable to me than adversity, but, as I’ve been thinking about it, I can see why the phrase works both ways.  Adversity does add flavor and interest to life.  Sometimes it is a bitter flavor, but then again, the rinds of oranges are also bitter, and I love marmalade.  So, I get it.

Today, however, has not been a day of bitterness.  I finally heard back from the place that said they wanted to interview me when they contacted me on DAY 26.  They even apologized for taking so long to get back to me.  Hallelujah!  That opportunity is back on the table.

I also heard back from Teaching Nomad, the place where I applied yesterday.  They want to interview me too, but I have very mixed feelings about whether or not I really want to live on the other side of the world.  I think one of the questions I have to answer is what I am really looking for at this point in my life.  Is it adventure?  Is it financial comfort?  Is it working at a place where I feel like I fit in?  Is it the opportunity to put down roots and settle down?  There is no right answer to these questions, but there is my answer, and I need to figure that out.

-Josie

Leave a Reply

