Day 40: UK Interview

Today’s interview was with a UK-based company that trains people to teach English as a second language.  If you complete one of their training programs, they guarantee you full-time employment in the country where you train.  I interviewed for their program in Prague, and at the end of the interview, they told me they were happy to offer me a spot in the program.

So it all sounds wonderful, but I have some concerns.  The biggest one is money, since you have to pay to participate in the training program.  The cost of the course is not exorbitant, but it is nothing to sneeze at, either.  So do I want this opportunity badly enough to pay for it up front and then hope I’m happy with it?  I don’t know.

One interesting thing about the Czech Republic is that it is supposed to be much easier to get papers to work legally there than it is in other European countries.  I am a rule-follower, so that appeals to me.

I have updates about other interviews as well.  The place in Connecticut has requested a second Skype interview this Friday, and the place in Rhode Island (which I applied for on DAY 31) has requested a phone interview for this Thursday.  I am getting a lot of practice interviewing!

On a somewhat different note, the New York Times has an interesting bit about Millennials today.  I count myself a member of this generation, so I’m always curious what people are saying about us now.  I like the fact that this article acknowledges the diversity within my generation and doesn’t make broad, negative generalizations about us.  I also really like this quote from the guy who runs human resources at Google:

“Every single human being wants the same thing in the workplace — we want to be treated with respect, we want to have a sense of meaning and agency and impact, and we want our boss to just leave us alone so we can get our work done.”

Yes!

-Josie

Leave a Reply

