Day 65: The Other Ceramics Class

As of Day 24, I’ve been enrolled in two summer ceramics courses.  One of them already started, but the other one starts tonight.  It will be interesting to see how the two courses are different.  Part of the value in taking both of them at the same time, I suppose, is that I’ll learn more than one way of doing things.

I’ve heard some people say that they find using the pottery wheel meditative or relaxing.  I can see why they say that.  The repetitive movement and sound of the wheel are somewhat like a rocking chair or the sound of waves on the shore, both of which are soothing.  Unlike those activities, though, using the pottery wheel is difficult, so I don’t find it that relaxing, at least not yet.

Today’s thank you goes to my dad, of course, since it is Father’s Day.

-Josie

 

Leave a Reply

