Day 96: Where’s My Kitsch?

Only three things broke during my move to New Hampshire: my ceramic parrot lamp, my monkey tail coat hook, and my turquoise piggy bank.  Is the universe telling me to move on from my kitschy animal phase of home decorating?  I don’t know, but there is a new package of super glue on my table, and I fully intend to glue the monkey tail coat hook back together.

In all seriousness, I’m really enjoying decorating.  I ordered some (tasteful, I think) leaf print curtains for the living room.  In keeping with the green theme I established on Days 90, 91, and 92, the curtains have about six different shades of green in them.  The coat hook that I’m going to salvage is actually green too.

I was in Vermont last week and was reminded that green is actually in the name of the state.  Ver + Mont = Green + Mountain.  I’m just over the border in New Hampshire myself, but it does seem that green is the predominant color around here, too.  I suspect this winter it will be hard to find, but, for now, it’s a lush, verdant world I’m in.

Today’s thank you goes to someone who talked me through getting a piece of machinery fixed.  Not a fun task, but it was nice of him to help.

-Josie

 

Leave a Reply

